Fortress Nehaj was built in 1558 when the Turks and Venice were at the peak of their power. In those bitter times, Senj with its inhabitants resisted numerous attacks of the enemy trying to seize control of the town. Ivan Lenković, the captain of the Senj army Uskoks ordered all churches and monasteries being outside the town walls to be destroyed and a new fortress on the Trbušnjak hill to be built.
Breathtaking Nehaj placed on the hilltop was very difficult to access – this 18 meters high and 23 meters wide fortress could be reached by staircases via wooden bridge and then through the narrow double gate. The powerful walls were over 3 meters thick, so the inhabitants could sleep peacefully for centuries.