UNESCO sites in Croatia and the tentative list

Photo: Unsplash (Grant Ritchie)

There are 10 sites in Croatia that are currently protected by UNESCO. Also, the other 15 are placed on the tentative list. 

The first three sites, the Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian, Dubrovnik and Plitvice Lakes National Park, were inscribed to the list at the 3rd UNESCO session in 1979. Further sites were added in 1997, 2000, 2008, 2016, and 2017. In total, there are eight cultural and two natural sites.

Let’s see the list:

  1. Plitvice Lakes National park
  2. Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian
  3. Old City of Dubrovnik
  4. Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Poreč
  5. The historic city of Trogir
  6. Šibenik Cathedral of St James
  7. Stari Grad Plain
  8. Stećci Medieval Tombstones Graveyards
  9. Venetian Works of defense between the 15th and 17th centuries
  10. Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe

The tentative list represents the sites that can be nominated to get UNESCO protection. So, let’s check them out:

  1. Zadar – Episcopal complex
  2. Historical-town planning ensemble of Ston with Mali Ston, connecting walls, the Mali Ston Bay nature reserve, Stonsko Polje and the salt pans
  3. Historical-Town Planning Ensemble Tvrda (Fort) in Osijek
  4. Varazdin – Historic Nucleus and Old Town (the Castle)
  5. Burg – Castle of Veliki Tabor
  6. Lonjsko Polje Nature Park
  7. Velebit Mountain
  8. Diocletian’s Palace and the Historical Nucleus of Split (extension)
  9. Lubenice
  10. Primošten Vineyards
  11. Hermitage Blaca
  12. City of Motovun
  13. The historic town of Korčula
  14. Kornati National Park and Telašćica Nature Park
  15. Frontiers of the Roman Empire – The Danube Limes

Read the full article HERE.